The Florida Highway Patrol issued more than 40,667 traffic tickets during its holiday enforcement effort, including 474 arrests for drunk driving. State statistics show that local police and sheriff’s offices typically make three times more drunk driving arrests than the patrol.
Thus, as many as 3,000 motorists were likely cited for driving under the influence of alcohol during holiday enforcement efforts.
Happy New Year!
“Our troopers worked hard to help our residents and visitors have a safe and enjoyable holiday period,” said Patrol Col. John Czernis. “Motorists who operate their vehicles in an unsafe fashion are a danger that puts innocent lives at risk. The men and women of the Florida Highway Patrol did their part to identify the unsafe drivers and take the steps necessary to decrease that risk.”
If you are charged with drunk driving in Broward County or in Palm Beach County, it is important to consult with an experienced attorney as soon as possible after arrest.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles reports the 19-day holiday enforcement period included troopers who typically work administrative detail, as well as reserve and auxiliary troopers. This is one of the reasons that enforcement crackdowns often lead to marginal or questionable arrests. Frequently, when a law enforcement officer lacks the proper training or experience to conduct DUI stops and to administer field sobriety testing, a reduction or dismissal of the charges is possible.
An experienced Palm Beach DUI defense attorney can review your case and advise you on the best course of action for protecting your rights. A reduction or dismissal of the charges is often possible as a result of unlawful traffic stops, poorly administered field sobriety tests, problems with breathalyzer examinations, and issues involving enforcement blitzes, sobriety checkpoints and other efforts by law enforcement.
In fact, a statistic that authorities would rather you not know is that only about half of those charged with drunk driving in Florida are convicted of the charge in any given year. In 2009, 63,019 motorists were charged with drunk driving and 36,972 were convicted.
Under Florida drunk driving law, a first-offense conviction can result in a $1,000 fine, 50 hours of community service, probation, alcohol treatment, up to six months in jail and the loss of your driver’s license for up to one year.
If you are facing DUI charges in Broward or Palm Beach counties, contact the Law Offices of Leifert & Leifert, a Partnership of Former Prosecutors, for a free consultation to discuss your rights. Call 1.888.5.DEFEND.