Our South Florida traffic lawyers read about a state trooper who was killed over the weekend after a driver ran into the back of his patrol car.
Although Florida passed the Move Over Law eight years ago, many Florida drivers still fail to move one lane over from emergency vehicles when the lights are flashing or drop their speed limit at least 20mph below the posted speed limit. Failure to do so could result in a $164 traffic citation.
In addition to Florida, over forty over states have passed similar Move Over Laws. Since 1999, more than 150 law enforcement officials have been killed by vehicles on United States highways.
Source: Trooper’s Death Reinforces Need for Move Over Law, NBCMiami.com, May 20, 2010
Contact our Broward County traffic lawyers if you been cited for speeding, running a red light, or other violations.